Reading Rate

I have been procrastinating with this assignment, most likely because I am trying to squeeze in my school work around my vacationing family here in Bend, OR.  But then I read Alison’s post and got motivated.  With the first link she presented, WSJ link, I read 420 words per minute,  and with the Staples link, I read 186 words (narrative text) in 32 seconds.   This motivated me to figure out my reading rate as Penny Kittle did with her students.   I chose the book If I Stay by Gayle Forman.  I saw this book on the many lists of YA literature posted by my classmates, and also enjoyed Penny Kittle’s excerpt from the book.  When we landed in WA on Friday, I saw this book on my niece’s bookshelf and grabbed it!

From this exercise I read 18 pages in 10 minutes, multiplied by 6, that would be 108 pages of this book in an hour.  I found the type in this book to be large and not many words per page, so I am not sure this is a true reflection of my reading rate.   I do know I read much  slower when I am reading a journal article.  I think, like Jennie Grant in her blog mentioned, I can read 3 pages in 10 minutes.   There is much more to try to take in and comprehend in that type of article.  Depending on the topic of the article, it can be a long and drawn out.

However, this exercise was very interesting and certainly could be a great tool and motivator for students.  Though as Penny mentions, “…but numbers alone do not tell the story.  Many students see a decline in reading rate because they begin to choose more difficult books as they become more confident readers” (p. 28).   I also think it depends on the book and your own reading level.   I did not find the language in this particular book, If I Stay, to be difficult, in comparison to say Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker or something of that nature.

I also laughed out loud when I read Jennie’s comment on the Hick’s article, because after reading both of the Coiro articles, I got very frustrated with the number of links and trying to figure out what to read first, second, etc.  It was not neatly laid out like the journal articles with a beginning, middle, and an end.  I also think this was a ploy by Renee Hobbs to get us to see the difference!

References

Hicks, T. (2012). Reading and writing e-books and immersive texts. Digital Is. National Writing Project.  http://digitalis.nwp.org/collection/reading-and-writing-ebooks.

Kittle, P. (2013). Book Love (pp. 1 – 167).

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

